Horsefly

Working hard in the heat
Sun beating down
Sweating hard as I shovel dirt.
My muscles hurt

BZzzZZZzZZ
All around my head and face
In the after noon when its the hottest
You little blood sucking pest.
You get the best of me as I wave my hands about
You’re to close to my head as I spin
In circles trying to spot you
As you continuously land on my head;
buzz in my ear
I’m tired of listening to you.

I work too hard to be annoyed by pests;
Insects like you,
Blood suckers like you,
I waste time and energy;
Fighting off bugs like you .

I hold out my arms and hands as a perch
As I give up.
Here! Bite me!
So I may swat you.
So I may kill you.

Leave a Reply

