Ghost Train

In my mind I’ve laid down tracks;

I’ve built up trains of thought.

At a snails pace they crawl along,

gradually picking up speed:

Now all my trains are racing,

racing towards some grandiose climax.

 

Through the window, the world is a blur,

Nothing feels real anymore,

my family and friends are just neat ideas.

My mind is starting to create its own world

to escape into.

 

I know  I’m heading for a horrible collision;

Stoke the engine! Faster, faster!

I must see this path through to the end!

 

I must have my  unique undoing!

Then, and only then,

will I  finally tear away the layers of my mask,

unravel myself from the mummy cloth,

and choose to live again.

 

 

Leave a Reply

